Five Lessons on Personal Power from a Top Dominatrix

Katie Critelli
6 min readOct 27, 2021

The subtle but powerful ways women can increase personal power in everyday interactions

Image used under license from Shutterstock.com

Introduction: Power, Sexuality, and Abolishing the Constitution

“Everything in the world is about sex, except sex. Sex is about power.” –Oscar Wilde

About a year ago, I found myself stuck on the New York subway when a car stalled underground. I began skimming the news to pass the time and within a few seconds, an article caught my eye: “Want to be more assertive in life? This former dominatrix will show you how.”

I clicked in for entertainment to kill the time, but as I read on, I was legitimately fascinated. There was nothing about leather or whips, no kinky stories, just a profile of a woman whose gaze seemed both warm and fully confident. A woman who was both a taoist nun and one of the highest paid dominatrices in the world. A woman had studied animal behavior and mysticism and understood the movement of energy and attention.

A woman who wasn’t interested in teaching women to appear powerful- she wanted them to be powerful and feel it.

This woman’s name is Kasia Urbaniak and she runs a Power Academy for women in New York City. I signed up for her comprehensive online course to see if she lived up…

--

--

Katie Critelli

I help people discover more pleasure, joy, and vitality in life. Find me here: https://www.find-your-spark.com/