Four Surprising Ways Breathwork Can Alter Your Mood and Health

Katie Critelli
6 min readMay 18, 2022

And simple techniques from a breathwork facilitator on how to try them

Image used under license from Shutterstock.com

Introduction

My interest in breathwork began three years ago, when a virtual session I joined out of curiosity led to an intense release of emotion and a feeling of clarity that lasted for many hours after. Coming out of the session, I knew I had experienced something powerful and wanted to learn more.

Since then, I’ve gotten certified as a Biodynamic Breathwork and Trauma Release System (BBTRS) facilitator and have studied everything I can on the science of breathwork, both ancient and modern.

If there’s one thing I’ve realized it’s that our breath is one of the most powerful tools we have and yet most of us don’t consciously use it. For millennia, breathwork has been recognized as a way to alter moods, improve health, and shift between states of consciousness. Our breath allows us to modify our nervous systems and biochemistry and if we become skilled at it, to master our moods and health.

For those who are skeptical, here are four of the most powerful ways breathing alters your body:

#1. Breathing Can Shift Your Biochemistry and Reduce Inflammation

--

--

Katie Critelli

I help people discover more pleasure, joy, and vitality in life. Find me here: https://www.find-your-spark.com/